Paleo Enchilada Bake

I have been trying to perfect an enchilada recipe that keeps the basics of Paleo. The hardest part…NO tortillas. I have tried several Paleo tortillas and haven’t quite been sold. I also couldn’t get the sauce right. So I was stuck in hard place with a not so good sauce and no good options for tortillas. I decided to make a “crust” and turn it into an Enchilada bake to still get all those flavors and textures. The crust didn’t set the way I wanted it to, so I’m going to keep working on it (I think baking it before adding the meat and sauce may be a good idea) The sauce turned out kick ass thanks to getting a big bottle of tomato puree from Fresh Connect that had all natural ingredients. I used leftover ground turkey just to use what I had on hand, but shrimp or shredded chicken would be great as well!

Enchilada Bake

Ingredients

½ tbsp coconut oil

¼ red onion, minced

1 jalapeno, minced

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups tomato puree

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp chili powder

½ tbsp cayenne pepper

½ tbsp cumin

½ cup coconut flour

2 eggs

½ small zucchini, grated

½ pound protein of your choice, cooked

Directions

Melt coconut oil in skillet over medium heat. Add minced onion, garlic, and jalapeno. Sauté until softened and add tomato puree. Reduce heat to a simmer. Stir in seasonings (paprika through cumin), being sure to mix well. Keep the sauce simmering while preparing the crust and meat. In a bowl, mix coconut flour, egg, and grated zucchini. Press into the bottom of a greased baking dish. (I would try baking the crust for 15 minutes at this point before adding the rest…and let me know how it turns out!). Top crust with cooked meat and then tomato sauce. Bake for 15 minutes or until crust is cooked through. Top with favorite garnishes…mine, black olive, avocado, cilantro, and romaine lettuce.


Leave a Reply

