Slow Cooker Apple “Crisp”

With the cooler temps of fall, I have been very inspired with pumpkin lately  as well as using my slow cooker, but I changed up pace with apples this time around. There’s nothing better than the sweet and tangy taste of apples mixed with cinnamon and a little bit of crunch from slivered almonds, warmed in the slow cooker for a few hours to let the flavors blend!

Ingredients:

  • 4 apples -variety of your choice. I used gala for this recipe
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/8 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup  slivered almonds
  • 1 tbsp plus 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp clarified butter
  • honey – for drizzling

Directions:

Peel, core, and chop apples into cubes. Place in bottom of slow cooker and sprinkle with cinnamon. Mix the almond flour, slivered almonds, coconut, and 2 tbsp cinnamon together until mixed well. Add butter to mixture and blend together until it becomes crumbly. Top the apples with the cinnamon mixture and slow cook for 2-3 hours. Scoop out apples and the crumble topping and place on a plate. Drizzle with honey if desired.

9 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Apple “Crisp”

  1. OMG, I can’t wait to try this. I think I am doing it tonight!!

  2. This was delicious!! I didnt even need the honey and it was perfect. I topped it with paleo pumpkin ice cream and it was heavenly!

  3. could you use coconut oil instead of clarified butter?

  4. Is there another kind of flour you can sub out with? I have almond flour or almonds on hand!! This looks SO good!

    • You can really use any flour, but I try to keep it gluten free for my followers. I bet hazelnut flour would be pretty tasty. Ground flax seed would give it more of a woody flavor as well. I think coconut flour would be okay, not sure how it would turn out with all the moisture though! Let me know if you try something else and it is yummy!

  5. Pingback: 6 Paleo Apple Crisps with No Flour or Sugar | Paleo Grubs

  6. Pingback: 6 Paleo Apple Crisps with No Flour or Sugar | Get Fit Bookmark

  7. Pingback: Monday 040714

Leave a Reply

