Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Guac, Friends, and Flowers April 30, 2011

Filed under: Sides — fitandfresh @ 2:47 pm
Tags: ,

I love guacamole and I love my friends! I have a few friends in town this weekend from all over the country to celebrate our friend Leah’s last few weeks of singleness before she becomes Mrs. Warren.We had a wonderful Friday, catching up on my comfy couch, a nice dinner out, and a few glasses of wine.

We woke up early this morning to take a PiYo class that I subbed and they all loved it! Then we walked to the City Market so they could experience one of my favorite places to go on the weekends in Kansas City. I love stocking up on fresh and LOCAL produce and picking up a small bouquet of flowers to brighten my apartment. I love this little stand in the middle section that you can get a small bouquet for $5!

I also picked up some fresh cilantro at the market because I had a few avocados that were ready to be used. We all LOVE guacamole, so I thought I would whip some up for a lunch time snack! I love guacamole, but I feel so much better when I make it myself because I know what exactly is going into it…some stuff you buy at the store has a lot of fillers and not REAL FOOD!

Why are the pits in the guac you ask? Well when storing the guac (we just put the pits in so I could blog about it…because we may have finished all of it!) if you place the pits in the guac, it helps to prevent the browning of the avocado. Not super scientific, and I meant to look up some references, but I have friends in town and haven’t gotten around it it.

I dipped the guac with Jicama (THE BEST THING to replace chip and dip cravings since turning paleo…blog post to come!!!) and they used chips and carrot. MMMMM….

Guacamole

Ingredients

  • 2 avocados
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 roma tomato, diced
  • ½ red onion, diced
  • 1-2 jalapenos, minced
  • Fresh cilantro, diced
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Mix all ingredients together, mashing parts of the avocado into a paste.

Tip

Serve with jicima slices, baby carrots, or thinly sliced cucumbers. If you don’t eat all the guacamole in one sitting, save the avocado pits and add to the guacamole. This helps to prevent browning when in a sealed container.


 

2 Responses to “Guac, Friends, and Flowers”

  1. Jayne Hartwig Says:

    I love your blog and plan to use the guac recipe soon! It looks incredible. Glad you girls had a great weekend.


Leave a Reply

