Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Warm Bacon, Sweet Potato, and Arugula Salad May 25, 2011

Filed under: Pork,Salads — fitandfresh @ 7:53 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been hitting the workouts hard this week, even Rx’d my very first CrossFit workout ever!!! (Following Paleo closely must be paying off!) I was in need of some starch and protein this evening because of my workouts this week. I check the Everyday Paleo site pretty regularly and found Sarah’s Warm Spinach and Sweet Potato Salad pretty good looking and thought it sounded absolutely delicious. I needed to save my spinach for brunch at work on Friday, so I bought some arugula instead to spice things up. Here’s my version of Sarah’s salad. I paired it up with a “clean” Tuna Salad (to be posted soon).

Spicy Bacon and Sweet Potato Salad (from Everyday Paleo)

Ingredients

  • 1 large sweet potato, diced
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 6 strips of bacon, diced
  • 1 leek, thinly sliced
  • Bowl of baby arugula
  • Spicy Vinaigrette or dressing of choice

Directions

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Toss sweet potatoes in coconut oil, placed on baking sheet, and bake for 20 minutes, or until soft. While the potatoes are baking, cook the bacon in a large skillet.  Once the bacon is cooked, add the leeks and sauté for additional 5 minutes. Place arugula in bowl; add half of bacon/leek mixture and half of the sweet potatoes. Toss well so the warm bacon and sweet potatoes help to wilt the arugula a little bit. Pour spicy vinaigrette dressing over the salad to the amount of your liking. Add fresh black pepper to taste.

Spicy Vinaigrette

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp spicy brown mustard
  • Basil and cayenne pepper to taste

Directions

Mix all ingredients well or use immersion blender to emulsify.


 

One Response to “Warm Bacon, Sweet Potato, and Arugula Salad”

  1. Christina Says:

    This recipe was amazing. I sprinkled rosemary on my sweet potatoes before baking, sauteed shallots with my bacon, and omitted the olive oil from my dressing. Such a crowd-pleaser. My roommates were so impressed! Will definitely make again.


Leave a Reply

