Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Tuna Salad Make-over June 20, 2011

Filed under: Salads,Seafood — fitandfresh @ 9:11 pm
Tags: ,

Let me start out by saying, I HATE tuna salad! I have never liked it, nor do I ever think I will, but I LOVE this salad!! The dressing is made up of olive oil, dijon mustard, and lemon juice, so it’s Paleo friendly! 🙂 I found inspiration for this recipe in Rachael Ray’s magazine, but tweaked it because I hate celery, added two times the greens and tuna. I also make sure to get wild caught tuna packed in water from Whole Foods to make sure I get good quality tuna that is not too fishy tasting. I also added avocado for some good fat!!! 🙂

Tuna Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 lemon, juiced,
  • 2 tsp lemon zest
  • 2 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 5 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 1 (12 oz) can wild caught tuna, packed in water
  • 4 baby carrots, finely chopped
  • ¼ red onion, diced
  • 4 medium to large tomatoes, cored and partially cut into wedges
  • A handful baby arugula or spinach
  • ½ avocado, sliced

Directions

Mix together lemon juice, lemon zest, Dijon mustard, and 3 tbsp olive oil. Add to the tuna and mix thoroughly. Add in carrots and red onion until mixed evenly. Spread out arugula on plate, and drizzle remaining olive oil (or dressing of your choice) over greens. Core tomato and place on top of arugula then fill with the tuna salad. Add avocado to top.

 

One Response to “Tuna Salad Make-over”

  1. […] 1: B: sausage spinach scramble and a side of cantaloupe S: blueberry Rx bar L: tuna salad over greens with tomato,and avocado, blackberries D: ribs, roasted sweet potatoes, and Brussels […]


Leave a Reply

