Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Pesto Spaghetti September 26, 2011

Filed under: "Pasta",Chicken,Italian — fitandfresh @ 9:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

I got the new “Paleo Comfort Foods” in the mail last week and I have been so excited to try something out of it!  I varied the recipe a little with some of my homemade pesto that I keep in the freezer until I run out. I topped it with chicken to add protein to the dish…so here is my version, ENJOY!

Spaghetti Pesto

Ingredients

  • 1 spaghetti squash, cooked
  • 1 cup pesto sauce
  • ½ tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 fresh tomatoes, diced
  • A handful fresh basil, thinly sliced
  • ¼ cup toasted pine nuts
  • 3-4 cooked chicken breasts

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and cook chicken marinated with olive oil and garlic for at least 30 minutes.. Heat a large skillet over medium heat to melt coconut oil and add garlic. When garlic begins to brown, add spaghetti squash and pesto, stirring until mixed well. Top with diced tomatoes, fresh basil strips, and toasted pine nuts, folding into mix. Top with chicken.

 

Leave a Reply

