Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Chicken Soup December 9, 2011

Filed under: Soup — fitandfresh @ 7:57 pm
Tags: ,

So I unfortunately came down with a bout of the stomach bug or something…this is my payback for ordering chicken tenders last night….I had not had anything to eat all day because it felt like someone was pulling my stomach in 5 different directions. Finally about an hour ago, I decided to try to eat something worthwhile. Now, nothing actually sounded good, but I knew I needed to get something in me. We always had chicken noodle soup to cure the tummy aches, so that’s what I decided to go for, major comfort food! To be perfectly honest, I was feeling crappy and did use noodles, then I looked at them and picked all of them out. Being sick does something to your brain I’m pretty sure. I was having a crazy moment, so I came up with this plus a few noodles.  Omit the noodles to make it completely paleo!

Chicken Soup

Ingredients

  • 3-4 chicken breasts, fat trimmed
  • 2 containers chicken stock
  • 1 leek, thinly sliced
  • 4 large carrots, peeled and sliced
  • ½ yellow onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 bag baby spinach
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • Salt, pepper, and parsley to taste

 Directions

Pour chicken stock in large saucepan. Add leeks, carrots, garlic, onion, salt and pepper, and parsley and bring to a boil. Add chicken breasts, cooking for about 8-10 minutes until cooked through. Reduce heat to simmer. Remove chicken, let cool for a bit and shred. Place shredded chicken back into the pot and add spinach until wilted. Top with diced avocado.

 

Leave a Reply

