Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

21 Day Sugar Detox…boom! January 23, 2012

Filed under: Goals,Motivation,Paleo Journey — fitandfresh @ 3:27 pm
Tags: , ,

high-halloween-ecard-someecards

I just completed the 21 Day Sugar Detox put together by Diane Sanfilippo of Balanced Bites. When I set out to do this at the beginning of the year, I got a lot of puzzled looks, questions of my sanity, and even someone who told me I couldn’t do it. No fake sugar and not much natural sugar…DONE! I decided to do it because for me, sticking to a definite plan is something I need in order to stay on track. Following Paleo and the occasional cheating gets me in trouble, because when I cheat, I really cheat, and then cheat some more and then go on a downward spiral with my diet and then feel like crap. I needed a reset, a way to start over and cleanse myself. I really needed those cravings to stop and this detox just did that! How did I do it? Great question, I have lots of answers!

First, I made sure that everyone knew I was doing it loud and clear! Why? So people could hopefully help me through it, keep me accountable, and hopefully not tempt me with bad things. I did not set out to do it to lose weight, but after 21 days lost around 5-7 pounds and had almost everyone comment on how much I leaned out…and I FELT GREAT. If that’s not positive reinforcement, I don’t know what is!!!

I made sure I was prepared. I cooked about 4 different meats and veggies on Sundays and mixed them up during the week. I had 4 pans going on the stove, one or two crockpots going, and never had to worry the rest of the week what I was going to eat, plus I had variety. If I had plans with friends, I either ate dinner at home before meeting up or checked out the menu ahead of time and picked out what I could eat. Was it hard, yes, was it worth it, definitely! I even chose an omelet during happy hour, that’s dedication!

I also cleaned out my pantry and fridge. I got rid of EVERYTHING non-compliant with the detox…and donated it all to a local food pantry. I knew I had to do that, there was there was NO way I could possibly be tempted at home. Work, I stocked my drawer/fridge with healthy snacks. Almonds, hard boiled eggs, nitrate and sugar free turkey, and carrots and guacamole were my go-to foods when I had a craving. I found out if you are having a craving you need to acknowledge it, eat something good, and move on. If you don’t acknowledge the craving, it will literally eat at you until you break.

Now, I don’t really want anything artificial, it kinda makes me sick to my stomach thinking about it. I weighed in at a CrossFit competition this weekend and was the lowest weight I’ve been in several years. I’m sleeping better, look better, and feel better. If that isn’t enough proof for you, I don’t know what is. So check out the 21 Day Sugar Detox from Diane at Balanced Bites, you won’t regret it! Thank you so much Diane, this was yet another part of my incredible journey towards my personal and fitness goals!!!

 

Leave a Reply

