Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Spinach Artichoke Spaghetti January 25, 2012

Filed under: "Pasta",Italian,Turkey — fitandfresh @ 5:03 pm
Tags: , , ,

After completing the 21 Day Sugar Detox, I decided I am going to continue eating as clean as I can, I feel great, look great, and am having great workouts. I like the word great today 🙂  So I’ve decided the less sugar for this girl the better. It pays to have your energy come from a natural source, or so I’m told!  Anyway, I was trying to decide what I wanted for dinner, looked up and saw a spaghetti squash sitting on top of the fridge and since I recently re-stocked my pantry, I knew I had tomato paste and sauce and found fresh basil in the fridge, so that means spaghetti! I added some extra veggies for fun. Feel free to use any ground meat you wish, I had ground turkey, so that’s what I used.

Spinach Artichoke Spaghetti

Ingredients

½ tbsp coconut oil

1 medium spaghetti squash, cooked

¼ yellow onion, minced

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 pound ground meat

1 can tomato paste

1 can tomato sauce

Fresh basil, thinly sliced

1 can artichokes, diced

4 handfuls fresh baby spinach

Directions

Melt coconut oil in skillet over medium heat. Add minced onion and garlic until fragrant. Add ground meat to onion and garlic, season to your liking and cook until browned. Add one can tomato paste and one can tomato sauce, adding a little bit of  chicken stock if too thick. Mix in fresh basil and artichokes. Bring sauce to a low boil and then reduce heat, simmering for about 15 minutes. Add spinach, stir, and cover. Stir occasionally until spinach is wilted and mixed into sauce. Pour meat/sauce mixture over spaghetti squash and enjoy!

NOTE: To cook spaghetti squash, preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cut squash in half and remove seeds. Place cut side down in baking dish and add water to about 1/4th of an inch. Bake for about 20-30 minutes until tender. Use a fork to remove squash. It should come out in threads aka spaghetti!

 

Leave a Reply

