Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Dark Chocolate Almond Coconut Bars August 8, 2012

Filed under: "Treats" — fitandfresh @ 3:57 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

 

So it’s been a while since I posted, but I promise I will get back into it very soon! This is not my recipe, but I have a feeling it’s going to be pretty amazing so I wanted to share. The only thing I changed is adding more chocolate than the recipe calls for, because I LOVE chocolate! Special shout out to Tropical Traditions (where I ALWAYS get my coconut oil) for this recipe. They have TONS of gluten and dairy free recipes (not always paleo though, but still some amazing stuff on there!)

 

Dark Chocolate Almond Coconut Bars

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole almonds
  • 1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 2/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 3 oz dark chocolate…I may have used more like 6 🙂

Directions:

Melt coconut oil in skillet over low heat while preparing the rest of the bars. Pulse almonds in a food processor until coarsely ground. Continue to add the rest of the ingredients besides the chocolate and process until it becomes paste-like, but still coarse. Spread into a 9×9 baking dish evenly. Melt chocolate in a double broiler and then drizzle over almond mix. Spread evenly and let sit in the fridge for a few minutes until chocolate becomes solid but still soft (to ease cutting).

 

Leave a Reply

