Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Apple Cider Brined Pork Chops August 13, 2012

Filed under: Pork — fitandfresh @ 8:37 pm
Tags: , ,

I recently started getting meat at this wonderful place in Kansas City called the Local Pig. Delicious is all I have to say! If you haven’t been there and live here, you definitely need to check it out! Anyways, a got these super sized pork chops and pork can be difficult to cook as it is super easy to overcook. We were told brining would help as it was really hard to over cook brined pork chops. So I went investigating online and came up with this…

image

Apple Cider Brined Pork Chops
Ingredients:
2 pork chops
2 cups apple cider vinegar
1 cup water
1/4 cup sea salt
2 tbsp honey

Directions:
Note: Brine overnight for best results, so prepare 12-24 hours before cooking.
Mix water, cider, salt, and honey together until mixed well. Add pork chops and cover and refrigerate. When ready to cook, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Drain brine and rinse with water. Bake for 20-30 min depending on thickness of chops. I didn’t add any seasonings and they still turned out delicious. You can also grill for a slightly different flavor. I added a side of lemon pepper asparagus. Enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “Apple Cider Brined Pork Chops”

  1. jennypi2 Says:

    I love brined chops! I add cinnamon to my pork chop brine because it just reminds me of childhood 🙂

  2. This recipe looks delicious AND it fits the paleo autoimmune protocol. So, thank you! I just started a weekly Paleo AIP Recipe Roundtable through my blog, and I would love it if you linked up this recipe. I’m trying to expand resources for the AIP community. Here’s the link: http://www.phoenixhelix.com/2013/11/06/paleo-aip-recipe-roundtable-2/


Leave a Reply

