Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Veggie Casserole January 12, 2013

Filed under: Italian,Paleo Journey,Sides — fitandfresh @ 8:36 am
Tags: , , , ,

So my gym, CrossFit Memorial Hill, kicked off a nutrition challenge this week. I, of course, had to go big or go home, so I chose to partake in the level 3 (hardest) challenge, paleo/zone. After 2 days, I was really struggling with measuring out my food, as I feel like I am eating 2x the carbs and half the fat and protein I was previous eating when just paleo. It has been an adjustment, but I’m waiting to see my results 🙂  Anyway, so in addition to measuring out my food, I have a really hard time eating all the “carbs” that I am supposed to get. CARBS = VEGGIES and FRUIT!  And since it was Friday and we were running low on things, I decided to make a vegetable medley/casserole that I blocked out the entire dish and then evenly cut up into slices for a 1 block portion. The entire casserole was 16 blocks, so we cut it up into 16 squares for 1 block per square. Pretty easy!  Even if you aren’t blocking, this is still delicious. In the past, I topped with some all natural pepperoni to give it a pizza flare!

Image

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium sized zucchinis, sliced into circles
  • 3 cups mushrooms, sliced
  • 3 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 can artichoke hearts, sliced
  • 1 jar tomato/marinara sauce (mine was basil and garlic flavored)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Sliced the zucchinis into circles and layer over bottom of baking dish. Then sprinkle mushrooms, carrots, and artichokes evenly over bottom zucchini layer. Top with marinara sauce and bake 20 minutes, until warm throughout and veggies are al dente. If desired, sprinkle with a bit of Parmesan cheese and/or add Italian sausage or all natural pepperoni!

 

Leave a Reply

