Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Spinach Breakfast Casserole January 13, 2013

Filed under: Breakfast,Mexican — fitandfresh @ 11:48 am
Tags: , , ,

Continuing to block and still having trouble getting all my veggies in (fruit isn’t a problem, but I need to get my veggies in too!). Breakfast us probably one of my favorite meals, one because of bacon and two because I love bacon 🙂 Well that’s not the only reason, but breakfast is how you start your day and I love mixing flavors and trying new combos. This does not have bacon in it, but it could!

image

Ingredients:
1 sweet potato, shredded
1-2 sausgaes (I used chorizo verde from local pig)
8 eggs
1/4 cup coconut milk
4 cups spinach, chopped
Seasonings: I used salt, pepper, and jalapeño

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Shred sweet potato using grater or a food processor. Press into bottom of greased (I use coconut oil) 8×8 baking dish. Sprinkle cooked sausage over top of the potatoes. In a small bowl, beat eggs and seasonings until well blended. Fold in spinach until well mixed. Pour egg mixture over top of potatoes and sausage. Bake for approximately 15 and then increase heat to 425 degrees for the last 10-15 minutes or until eggs are set. Serve warm and pour salsa over top if desired. I also served with a side of guacamole for fat blocks.

 

Leave a Reply

