Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

Q&A with Paleo Trail February 7, 2013

Filed under: Health Tips,Paleo Info,Uncategorized — fitandfresh @ 12:06 pm

I had a chance to ask some Q&A’s with Kristin, from Paleo Trail to see what this tracker is all about. Here’s the answers to my questions for her! This is a perfect site for those of us tracking our paleo (or not so paleo) food choices without having to worry about amounts!

Q: What is Paleo Trail?

A: Diet tracking should focus on the quality of the food choices made, while also being fast and convenient. That’s why I created Paleo Trail. It lets you track your Paleo diet online in less than 5 minutes a day, without ever counting a calorie.

You’re probably wondering how it works. To add a meal, you simply rate the quality of the food choices you made at your meal.

 Image

Did you eat only 100% health-promoting foods? Then give yourself a Supreme rating. Was this a cheat meal? Or did it fall somewhere in between?

Let’s look at an example. Say you packed your lunch for work. You have a nice fresh salad topped with lots of veggies and some flank steak, but you forgot to pack your extra-virgin olive oil dressing. Instead, you use a couple teaspoons of whatever bottled dressing is in the work fridge. You check the label and see that it’s made with a mixture of olive oil and canola oil. You know that canola oil isn’t a health-promoting food, but you only consumed a small amount. It certainly isn’t enough to undo the health benefits of your steak salad, and it doesn’t pose a serious threat to your short- or long-term health. You decide this meal deserves a Pretty Good rating.

And that’s it!

Q: Why should I do it?

A: The Paleo Trail Calendar shows you at-a-glance how clean you’ve been eating over time. Anything else is just guesswork.

Image

It’s free to join, so you have nothing to lose by signing up today.

Q: Why can’t I just track my own food in a journal?

A: I discovered there were shortcomings with traditional diet tracking methods. Virtually all the online trackers focused on calories & portion sizes. With my eating disorder background, I know that calorie counting isn’t a healthy behavior for me. I just wanted to track how Paleo I was eating.

Even paper journals were inadequate. They’re inconvenient because you have to carry them around with you everywhere. It’s also next to impossible to understand how clean you’ve been eating over time. I had to scan each day’s food log for the past month to gain an understanding of what my eating habits had been like. What a pain!

I advocate for tracking your diet because diet tracking helped me fine tune my eating patterns to fully support my particular health issues. See exactly how you’re eating laid out on a calendar helps you see exactly which behaviors to change.

Q: What are the perks of using Paleo Trail versus another meal tracking site?

A: Paleo Trail NEVER requires you to track calories or measure out exact portion sizes. Simply track how clean you’re eating, in less than 5 minutes a day.

Q: What extra stuff do I get with Paleo Trail Complete?

A: Paleo Trail Complete shows you how you’re really eating. Get concrete insights into your eating habits to keep you aware and honest. Automated graphs and charts show you:

Image

  • Your 80/20 Clean Eating Overview – Are you really eating clean 80% of the time?
  • Cheating Insights – Take control of your bad habits and pinpoint the foods you’re most likely to cheat on, as well as the day of the week and time of day.
  • Choice Quality Details – How often are you choosing foods that promote your health? Compare meals against snacks.
  • Meal Timing – Reveals patterns in your meal timing. Automatically tracks your longest fasting time.

A Complete membership doesn’t require any additional time from you, either. It simply takes your tracked meals and turns them into useful information you can use to eat clean and feel better. Learn all the details here on Paleo Trail Complete.

 A very special Thanks to Kristen for answering my questions!

Image

 

2 Responses to “Q&A with Paleo Trail”

  1. DeeDee Says:

    I love Paleo Trail for all the reasons Kristin states. I dieted my way from 100 lbs overweight to a healthy weight and a binge eating disorder. I knew that I needed to keep track to stay accountable to myself and encourage healthy eating choices but I also knew that focusing on calories and weighing was a negative behavior in my recovery. As I continue to recover from bingeing and start trusting my intuition about hunger, this is exactly the tool I need.

    I love seeing my day in photos rather than in calorie counts. As a disordered eater, I appreciate being able to set my own standards rather than feel pressured to achieve someone else’s perfection. This program is so easy to use and I have recommended it to my friends. I tried it free first, just to make sure I’d use it. Now I’ve upgraded so I can get the most out of all it offers. Love it!

    • Hi DeeDee! I’m extremely happy that Paleo Trail is helping you track in a healthy way, even with a history of disordered eating. My heart goes out to you as I know how tough that it, but it sounds like you’re on the right path to health. So happy you love Paleo Trail!!


Leave a Reply

