Fit and Fresh

Strive to lead a fit and fresh life!

“Mac and Cheese” June 19, 2013

Filed under: "Pasta",Sides — fitandfresh @ 9:00 pm
Tags: ,

I seriously love mac and cheese; however, it doesn’t love me. Since eating mostly paleo, I really can’t tolerate much gluten and mac and cheese is a gluten-lovers heaven next to spaghetti and cheese bread. I always thought I was somewhat lactose intolerant, but found out I can tolerate small amounts of cheese. Plus, I paired this dish with bacon and who doesn’t love bacon!

paleo mac and cheese

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 heads of cauliflower
  • 1/2 pound bacon, sliced into bits
  • 1 tbsp grass-fed butter
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 can coconut milk
  • 4 oz full fat cream cheese
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1-2 tsp arrowroot powder
  • 1 bag sharp cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook cut up bacon in large skillet until browned and transfer to plate with paper towels to drain. While bacon is cooking, chop cauliflower into bite-sized florets and steam for 5 minutes until crisp tender. Drain and line florets in a large baking dish. In another small saucepan, heat butter over medium heat and add garlic until fragrant. Add coconut milk and cream cheese and sitr frequently until cream cheese is melted. Add salt, pepper, and nutmeg to sauce and mix well. Add arrowroot powder 1 tsp at a time until sauce slightly thickens. Sprinkle bacon over cauliflower and pour sauce over cauliflower. It will not coat completely, but try to get a little bit of sauce over each floret. Sprinkle with cheddar cheese and bake for approximately 20 minutes. Broil for last 2-5 minutes until cheese bubbles and slightly browns to your liking.

 

7 Responses to ““Mac and Cheese””

  1. Mallory Says:

    loved this recipe! My boyfriend and I are trying to live a healthier lifestyle. This was seriously so good! I saved the recipe because we will for sure be making this again. We added some goat cheese while it was on broil for the last few minutes to give it a little different cheese. Thanks for the post of this dish!!

  2. […] Carrot French Fries 11. All Natural Fruit Roll-ups 12. Zucchini Chips 13. Paleo Waffles 14. Paleo “Mac and Cheese” 15. Perfect Paleo Potato Salad Thanks for reading and happy cookin’! […]

  3. Amy Says:

    1 bag sharp cheddar cheese? How many ounces? I like to shred my own.

  4. […] Fries 11. All Natural Fruit Roll-ups 12. Zucchini Chips 13. Paleo Waffles 14. Paleo “Mac and Cheese” 15. Perfect Paleo Potato Salad Thanks for reading and happy cookin’! […]

  5. […] all love mac and cheese at our house, so when I came across this recipe, I had an idea. I’d reconstruct my husband’s favorite meal in a more Paleo way! Since I […]


Leave a Reply

